top of page

REDISCOVERING MY FAITH IN GOD

God is not there in the way I think He should be or have heard He should be. He's not there in the way the church has taught Him to be or how I've learned Him to be.

I can now see how people come to a place in their lives where they call upon the universe or a higher power. The thought or concept of the embodiment of God as a supreme being, taking a personal interest in the every day affairs of our life is amazing!! But in reality it doesn't appear that's the way it works.

Sure, it takes faith to believe, but what we've been taught many times has done more harm than good regarding a relationship with the Lord.

Sometimes I feel like a crazy man talking like this. But the older I get I'm sure many people can relate to what I'm sharing.

The bottom line in all of this is our Heavenly Father, God, the Almighty, the supreme being of the universe, wants a one on one, hands-on relationship with His children. That my friends does not come through learned knowledge alone. What I'm talking about comes from pressing in, yes, fighting the good fight of faith, and entering into that secret place of the most high where it's just you and the Lord.

You cannot get there just by hearing and reading about God, anymore than you can climb a mountain just by reading and looking at pictures. You have to get out there, open and naked before the Lord, free from the cares of this life. This is a place I believe few people have ever found or lived.

Remember Jesus in the desert and in the mountains praying, alone?

I've desired with all my whole heart to know the Lord. I get frustrated though because when I try to feel Him, see Him, have Him manifest Himself to me, my mind struggles with the faith teachings of the past.

I learned in church that you get to know God through his word. Perhaps it would better be said to say, "We learn ABOUT God through his word!"

However...

PROFOUND POINT -We can never know Him intimately except through "experiential knowledge."

Most, if not all we know about God has come from "learned knowledge." Very little if any has come from "experiential knowledge." What we've heard and learned growing up has shaped our beliefs. I'm not saying that's wrong, but I am saying to know Him is to experience Him, one on one.

Remember the story in the old testament of Moses and the burning bush? How about the experience the apostle Paul had on the road to Damascus in the New Testament? How about Moses on Mount Sinai and the ten commandments? How about Mary and Elizabeth and their heavenly visitations from above? The Bible has many examples of God visiting his people.

And so we live in a day where for the most part it seems like God is nowhere to be found. I've been experiencing this in my own life. It's been a very difficult and frustrating time for me. I know God exists, but to not have Him visit me has been very very difficult. Especially with all this faith teachings running through my head. It's confusing and frustrating.

When something goes good we thank God. When something goes bad we normally don't thank God. The Bible says in all things give thanks. That's easier said than done. But in reality how much does God Himself really have to do in all of these things? Think about it.

Sure it's nice and comforting and the religious thing to do to think that He's always with us, ready to reach out and save us and help us. I'm sure in some ways and in some situations in life He has. But it's not the norm. With all the suffering in this world it's not the norm my friends. It's difficult learning about a loving Heavenly Father with so much heart ache, pain, misery and tragedy in this world. Can I get a witness?

With all the suffering in the world today, it's difficult to thank and praise a loving Heavenly Father. My mind struggles with that concept. Those of the faith say, "Just believe and trust God." Believe me, that's what I want to do. That's what I've tried to do.

Some will say, "I just need more faith." Actually, what you need is more of God, Himself, no more words, one on one, face-to-face.

When you look up at the stars at night or watch the waves come crashing in on an ocean beach, it doesn't take long to realize there's something greater in life than meets the eye.

You cannot figure God out, put Him in a box, use Him like a lucky charm, Aladdin's lamp, or credit card. God is not a convenience store!! God is not an ATM machine dispensing large amounts of bliss and happiness when we push the right buttons.God is not some ATM machine who spurts out blessings when you punch some numbers on a keypad.

You can never figure God out!! Once you think you have Him figured out, look out. Your theology is about to crumble to the ground. I'm convinced there's no way in a million years you'll ever figure Him out. And I think He likes that.

In our modern day, superficial, self absorbed, cyber, hyper, technological GPS society, we need to re-calculate, reroute, and navigate towards God. Perhaps we've learned it wrong.

Somewhere God is reaching out towards us and we need to take hold of His hand in a very real and tangible way. I don't have all the answers, but I know it's out there. I'm going to continue looking for it. I hope you do too.

I do believe God uses people, and there's much evidence of His existence in this world. Perhaps that's part of the answer. Perhaps seeing Jesus in you and you seeing Jesus in me, reaching out to one another, embracing one another, comforting and helping one another.

"Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me." (Matthew 25:40).

I find myself in a place between heaven and earth. I am physically living in this world but a part of me is somewhere else.

I am on a great trek and adventure to find God in my life. Many would say God is always with me. Perhaps in essence and theory, but in actuality and experientially, I beg to differ. In a perfect world, yes, I would want God with me, at my side every moment. Who wouldn't?

I like what Dan Cox said in his book, "Disillusioned." 'My experience is stronger than my theology.'

I am "rediscovering my faith in God."

Sure I believe, but I believe differently. Sure I think, but I think differently. Sure I pray, but I pray differently today.

Please watch my video, "A Church Without Walls." Share it with a friend. I would appreciate a referral and am currently taking invitations to speak in churches, at civic and community events, businesses, organizations and schools. Thank you kindly for your help.

If you have been blessed and inspired by these writings please share them. To help me continue these writings and reaching more people please consider making a DONATION to my blog. Thank you very much!!

bottom of page