top of page

THE PULLS AND TUGS OF GOD


Can there be others in this world, in my orbit of life, who feel the same way as I do? I believe there is another world with people in it who do feel similar. I must needs find this place soon. I must needs find these people.

I did some journaling recently about the pulls and tugs we feel in our lives, the emptiness, restlessness and void we feel. I believe with all my heart this is God calling us from this world unto Himself. Sadly, most don’t even recognize the call, and those who do, few be who follow it. “Many are called but few are chosen.”

The symptoms of this calling, pulling, tugging and restlessness are:

• Not feeling a part of this world anymore.

• Feeling disconnected.

• Feeling like you don’t belong.

• An intense spiritual hunger.

• Intense loneliness.

• Inward restlessness and dissatisfaction.

• Wanting and desiring more than the mundane things of life.

• Losing the taste for this life.

• Craving peace and solitude.

• Wanting more of God in your life.

Personally, I have fought this call most of my life. It is too easy to get sucked into the superficial vacuum and flow of this world’s system (kosmos). The world's system is designed to keep us away and distracted from the things of God and living a holy, sacrificial, sanctified life. If we are not sober minded, vigilant, and daily renewing our minds with God’s Word and coming into His presence then we fall prey to the devil, his subtle schemes and evil influences of the world. *(Read Ephesians chapter 6).

It is a daily fight and struggle to stay above the cares and distractions of the world. Most of time it doesn't “feel" right, but deep down inside you know it is the way you are to go. Deep down inside when you are quiet you know this is God speaking to you and wooing you to separate yourself unto Him. Months and years may pass. You may even die and never fully yield to His higher calling. Many come and go and never enter into the fullness of what God wants for their lives. I am convinced God wants this higher calling for all of our lives. There is not respecter of persons with God (Acts 10:34).

My Father, Robert William Cappetto, felt this call as a young man. He entered a Catholic seminary to become a priest at the age of 14. Things didn’t work out for him at the time and he came home. After serving in the military he once again entered a Catholic Seminary in Chicago to become a priest. This is what he had hoped for and wanted all his life. His life’s desire was to serve Jesus in this capacity. Sadly, he never became a priest. My Dad fought this world’s system and its pulls and lusts and died early, at the age of 37, without fully entering his high calling in Christ Jesus.

We try so many things to fill the void within us. We are born with a hole in our lives which only God can fill. Everything else is temporal and will soon pass away, but the Word of the Lord will endure (last) forever!!

Many people are running to and fro through this life and in essence they are running from God. They are running from His tugs and pulls. Adam ran from God after sinning in the Garden of Eden. Jonah ran away from God and fled to Tarshish. Are you running away from God today?

One of my favorite Bible verses is, “Be still and know that I am God.”

Silence is powerful and needful in today’s face paced busy world. "We live in an age of massive, all pervasive, crushing secularism in America!!" When in prayer, silence before God is a big part of the conversation. We must learn to fully embrace the silence and solitude.

“We need to find God, and He cannot be found in noise and restlessness. God is a friend of silence. See how nature, trees, flowers, grass grow in silence? See the stars, the moon, the sun, how they move in silence? The more we receive in a silent prayer, the more we can give in our active lives. We need silence to be able to touch souls." (Mother Teresa of Calcutta).

Look around your world today. I have never seen more busy and distracted people. It seems everyone is in a hurry, and not just in the major metropolitan areas. It is happening in our smaller communities too.

When a major disaster happens what do we usually do? Everyone seems to stop and slows down for a moment or two. But soon after they return to the same madness and busyness as before the tragedy. God is a jealous God. He is vying for our attention.

To get closer to Jesus we MUST set ourselves apart from this world. We MUST quiet our minds and ponder His Word. We MUST consecrate our lives to Him. Where are the DEVOUT people of the world?

My heart craves solitude. I have lost my taste for this world and comment often on going to Heaven. I’m ready for Heaven. Are you?

There is another world. I believe we can and need to find this world. It is here, on this earth and in this life!! This short life on earth is merely a waiting station and forerunner of what’s ahead - Heaven and eternity. What train are you on?

This world is a war zone. Every time I leave my place of solitude and prayer I enter the battle of life. In war there are many casualties. (This article may just save your life or the life of someone you love). Keep these words close to your life. Keep God’s Word in the midst of your heart. Learn to yield to His tugs and pulls. Begin to separate yourself from this world. You cannot be a friend of the world and a friend of God. It is enmity against God. “Love not the world neither the things of the world.” (I John 2:15).

In closing, I truly believe there is a group of people on this earth being called by God, being drawn by His Spirit to consecrate and dedicate themselves to serving Jesus. God is pulling and tugging on their hearts to come closer to Him, to take up their cross daily, denying themselves in full and complete surrender to His will; forsaking all else and following Him.

God bless and keep you as you yield to Him and keep Him close to your life.

PRAYER - “Oh God, I seek thee this day. I pray to thee this day. I come humbly and reverently before you this day to do Your will. I have lost the taste and desire for the things of this world. A higher calling; a higher purpose; guide my steps this day.”

PRAYER - "I am a sojourner passing through this life. There is a restlessness in my heart. My soul longeth only for Thee. Make my paths straight oh God. Teach me to walk in your ways."

PRAYER - "The mundane things of this life can be no more. They must die!! They must cease to exist. A higher calling, a better life is awaiting us. Do you hear His call? Can you feel His tug and pull in your heart?"

Please watch my video, "A Church Without Walls." Share it with a friend. I would appreciate a referral and am currently taking invitations to speak in churches, at civic and community events, businesses, organizations and schools. Thank you kindly for your help.

If you have been blessed and inspired by these writings please share them. To help me continue these writings and reaching more people please consider making a DONATION to my blog. Thank you very much!!

bottom of page