top of page

GOD'S SHADOW (in troubled times)


If ever there was a time to be spiritually minded and forsake the things of this world and to fix our gaze above it is now.

Perhaps ironic, most of my devotional reading these days centers around spiritual matters, letting go of the earthly pulls and tugs of this world which keep us down, divorcing ourselves from the materialistic aspects of this life as we know it.

"Turn thee with thy whole heart unto the Lord; and forsake this wretched world: and thy soul shall find rest." (Saint Thérèse of Lisieux)

God‘s Word tells us to, “look up," for our “redemption draws nigh,” and to fix our thoughts on things from above, not on things from the earth; to renew our minds with God‘s Word, (Romans 12:2). This is a daily struggle for most, taking up our cross daily and following Jesus. The mere mention of the cross means extreme pain and anguish on our journey; and yet that is God’s way.

I Corinthians 2:2: “For I have determined not to know anything among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified.” If I forget everything else in this life but remember this one scripture, then this will suffice, knowing only Jesus Christ and him crucified. That is all I need to know and all I ever need to know.

HIGH ABOVE -

I have a drone which I use for my video and film business. A motto I came up with for my aerial photography business reads, “Life Looks Better From Above.”

From a birds perspective, from God’s perspective, from an astronaut’s perspective out in space looking back towards the small blue globe called earth things don’t look as bad, even though down here on earth all hell is breaking loose!!

HEAVEN -

I’ve noticed I’m writing more songs about Heaven these days. I’m becoming more aware of my spiritual surroundings: angels, demons, Heaven and hell, God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit.

If ever there was a time to think about such things it is now. Most of us are living under state mandated stay at home orders. What are we doing at home? I feel and sense the presence of God more now than I ever have. I truly believe God is trying to get our attention through this global crisis. Are we listening?

Many days I feel like I’m at a train station awaiting the arrival of the next train to take me far away from here. "All aboard for God's Heavenly Train."

What would it take to go to Heaven?

What would it take if I left today?

Got my bags packed to the station.

What would it take if I go to Heaven?

Nothing in the world for me,

I wanna go where I am free, in Heaven,

Go to Heaven. Heaven, Go to Heaven.

PSALM 27:4

"One thing I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek;

that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the

days of my life."

I'M living every day with a growing consciousness and awareness that this world is not my home, and that my Heavenly home awaits me, where my loved ones are, where many of us are headed. If I didn't have this promise from God of a better place I would be left without any hope in this world.

As we approach this Easter Season in our homes, hunkered down, we must learn about and reflect upon the fact that Jesus came to this earth, was crucified, died and was buried for our sins, and on the third day rose again according to the Scriptures. Jesus says, "If you believe in me you shall not die!" That is one promise in this crazy, messed up, misinformed world I can live by.

After interviewing over 1000 military veterans across North America and the world these past 20 years of my life, I’ve come to find that there are “no atheists in the foxhole.” An expression used often by those who have served in combat on the battlefields of life.

Folks, we are on a battlefield of life, spiritually speaking. How can there be atheists in the foxholes of life with the battle raging around us?

Ephesians chapter 6, read it, memorize it, make it a part of your being. I’m finding God’s Words are becoming more alive and real to me every day as this national and international crisis continues on.

ACK, ACK -

When enemy planes are overhead during war, the ground anti-aircraft artillery battalions are called into action, turning their sites and guns towards the sky and firing point blank at the oncoming enemy aircraft. During a night attack this sight is even more dramatic, seeing the artillery rounds flashing; firing relentlessly into the deep, darkened night sky, illuminating the heavens.

In the spiritual realm a similar sight must be commenced and seen over our nation if we are to make a difference and fight back the powers of darkness in the unseen realm who are trying to rule, reign and control this awful situation we are in. Ground Zero is you and I, our homes, our loved ones and the cities we dwell in. An unseen enemy is trying to attack all of us. God has given us an arsenal of spiritual weapons to fight back. Where are the people of God today?

I realize some won’t understand what I’m talking about, but that’s where us believers, us true, dedicated soldiers in Christ must step forward, selflessly, and fight for our fellow citizens. We must turn our warfare towards the skies in prayer and fight back the enemy of darkness. With our shield of faith and breastplate of righteousness we must wage a holy onslaught towards the heavens on our knees.

SECOND CHRONICLES 7:14 -

"If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land."

Where are the Jonah's and Paul Reveres of the day?

JONAH preached repentance to the city of Ninevah and everyone, from the King on down, got on their knees and asked God for forgiveness. They repented of their sins as a nation, as a whole. I believe with all my heart that we MUST also as a nation, get down on our knees and ask God to forgive us of our sins, turn from our wicked ways and God will heal our land. No virus will be able to stand or survive in the midst of a God fearing, repentant nation. This one, all important vital message is missing and not being heard from the news media. Until we repent and turn to God as a nation I don't see this situation resolving completely with more of this type of plague following.

As the Scriptures declare, our fight is not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high or heavenly places.

GOD'S SHADOW -

I’m living and walking in Psalm 91 like never before.

1 "He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the SHADOW of the Almighty.

2 I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.

3 Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence.

4 He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.

5 Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night; nor for the arrow that flieth by day;

6 Nor for the pestilence that walketh in darkness; nor for the destruction that wasteth at noonday.

7 A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee.

8 Only with thine eyes shalt thou behold and see the reward of the wicked.

9 Because thou hast made the Lord, which is my refuge, even the most High, thy habitation;

10 There shall no evil befall thee, neither shall any plague come nigh thy dwelling.

11 For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.

12 They shall bear thee up in their hands, lest thou dash thy foot against a stone.

Are you living and abiding under the shadow of the Almighty? Under God’s shadow is refuge and strength, protection from the enemy. This is a good and needful place to be these days.

In the book of Acts chapter 5, they placed the sick along the streets hoping that even the shadow of Peter passing by would heal them.

“In the shadow of your wings I will take refuge and be confident until calamities and destructive storms are passed.” (Psalm 57:1)

PRAYER -

I pray God‘s blessings upon you this day and that His presence will be revealed to you as you reach out to Him by faith.

Please watch, "A Church Without Walls." Share it with a friend. I would appreciate a referral and am currently taking invitations to speak in churches, at civic and community events, businesses, organizations and schools. My EMAIL address: lcappetto@icloud.com

Thank you kindly for your help.

If you have been blessed and inspired by these writings please share them. To help me continue these stories and reaching more people please consider making a DONATION to my blog. Thank you very much!!

bottom of page